Somethings Fishy, Conserve and Profit

Record Price for Bluefin Tuna  BBC News
The Economics of Extinction, One Tuna at a Time.   lastwordonnothing.com
From Whaling to the active decimation of blue fin tuna stocks, as a former Fish Monger, I see these actions as criminal. From fishing in Alaska to throwing salmon at The Pike Place Market in Seattle, from buying seafood for Safeway to managing stores for Johnny’s Seafood in Washington, the true professionals I’ve known  have always mixed the desire for profit with conservation of the resource, many unthinkingly exploit. A failing of fish stocks, causes the failing of these industries, and a massive loss of jobs. Many understand this basic truth. While many don’t, and manically destroy the life in our lakes seas and oceans. I’ll say it again, this is a crime against all citizens of the world.
I too like Sashimi grade Ahi, but there is a limit. You don’t decimate a species to increase its price. Increased cost, and therefore profit, through extinction is not a good business model.

About Eternal Verity - Future News Headlines
Second rate polymath, driven close to mad by the murky quagmire of agenda driven disinformation, playing in their muddied waters. More speaker than a writer, and more a reader than anything. More genial than I might appear. My special ability, being able to jump class, in a single bound (Up or Down) My love and concern is for my fellowman and the feeling human in us all.

2 Responses to Somethings Fishy, Conserve and Profit

  1. blog says:

    Keep up the wonderful piece of work, I read few blog posts on this site and I conceive that your web blog is real interesting and holds bands of superb information.

  2. There was a report last week regarding the Chinese and their wholesale slaughter of sharks, just for the fins. It was estimated 70 million sharks each year slaughtered just for the fins. There are no words to describe my disgust

