Life’s Gun Battles

Guns are fine, it’s the people who have them that are the issue. I have three friends who have been shot down in the street, and one that blew his head off with a 79 dollar Kmart shotgun. I don’t deny you your Second Amendment right. I want you to have it. But, suspicion and threat isn’t a reason to kill. Nor is depression.

When you’ve been shot at personally, come talk to me. When you’ve been held at gun point, (more than once) come talk to me. When you’ve provided aid to gunshot victims, come talk to me. When you’ve cleaned up the blood from repeated eruptions of violence,  come talk to me. When you’ve taken the gun from the hand of a man about to commit a murder, then come talk to me. When your friend sits in wheel chair, forever changed from being shot in the streets, then come talk to me. When one of your friends needs 9 surgeries,to save his life, from gun shot wounds to the belly, then come talk to me. When you testify in attempted murder trail, because your friend has been beat down by those who commit violence, while you’re held back so you can watch the beating, then come talk to me about what you really know about guns, and what they really do.

Come walk a mile in my shoes, with something besides what you read on board, and how you interpret it. Only then we will be on fair ground. Till them count yourselves lucky when you go to bed at night, that none of this has happened to you. Know you’re better off just seeing it on TV, as then you won’t get hurt. But when it’s you, and you have some reality besides what you read and see on the tube, then you can fairly tell me your opinions. Till then be happy. And know I pray, honestly pray, we never meet having these shared experiences as common ground.

I’ve scratched the surface of my experience here. How have you formed your opinions on guns and gun control?  I don’t think or believe it to be a bad thing for most. As most are and can be trustworthy and responsible.  But I have experience, that overshadows anything you can see on TV, or read on the web or in a paper.  It can even overwhelm my own good sense, when confronted with my own experience,  as to who should and shouldn’t have firearms. It’s tough to see your fellow-man shot down in the streets.

“Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent.” A quote from Isaac Asimov, a Vice President of Mensa International, in his day. A quote I believe to be true. But in using his words, and professing my agreement, the fully uneducated person I am, must not have thought it through. I must not have considered fully, as he did, the meaning of the words. I must not have tried to put the meaning of the words into practice in my own life. I must not have been able like he, to consider the morals and ethics, in the taking of  life.

I’ve seen enough. I don’t need to see any more, to judge myself and my fellow-man. It’s been shown to me. I’ve seen it with my own eyes. You see violence, it’s been the last refuge of the incompetent for a while now. Please though, continue to Judge me for my life experiences, as I’ve seen you Judge others in ignorance. I have an opinion forged  in the fires violence, tempered by real word experience. I don’t want to take anything from my fellows. What I wish for is reason and logic, in our decision-making processes. Not total denial of our rights.

What experiences do you have with Guns and/or Gun Violence,  helping to form your opinions and changing your life?

About Eternal Verity - Future News Headlines
Second rate polymath, driven close to mad by the murky quagmire of agenda driven disinformation, playing in their muddied waters. More speaker than a writer, and more a reader than anything. More genial than I might appear. My special ability, being able to jump class, in a single bound (Up or Down) My love and concern is for my fellowman and the feeling human in us all.

2 Responses to Life’s Gun Battles

  1. David Splawn says:

    I’ve only done about half the things in your “come talk to me” list. We both lost the same dear friend, and I lost a stepbrother as well. I’ve been shot at, and I’ve pulled a gun to prevent a beating. But rather than compare life histories, or even talk about gun control, I have a different perspective.

    There is a real tendency to discount the opinions of those whose history and experiences differ from our own, to consider them uninformed if they haven’t ‘walked a mile in my shoes’ but why? Just because someone has never suffered a tragic loss, is their perspective any less valid? One could argue that perhaps yours, tinged as it is by emotional trauma, might be the less valid one and a more dispassionate and logical perspective might be more so.

    Either way, I would urge you to not close off the perspective of others, and listen to all without regard to their past. We all have a lot to learn, and can’t afford to cut off any potential source of wisdom. There’s not enough of it to go around as it is.

  2. Pingback: Re: Life’s Gun Battles « Eternal Verity

