Debating, A Third Party

I find the debate process here in the US, every four years, deeply flawed. I find no substance in our debates. They either digress into non question related monologues, or just flat bickering. The Commission on Presidential Debates, only shows us more  of what I call a “One Party, Two Party System of Governance”. I find it very hard to actually find real differences, that either will be able to accomplish in a term.

I’d like to see a five party debate, in the future. That’s me though. I feel it would be a first step to actual proportional representation of the electorate. You see when the 1P2P debates take place, the conversation is very limited, and often shifts, by the candidates manipulation, from substance to Monologues and Bickering, with a Smile. This doesn’t help, when given so little chance to see candidates side by side. Add in the micro difference between parties, and their incapability to effect real change, with workable Ideas. I say, we have a problem Houston. Adding  participants to the debates might even help the 1P2P system define their differences.

We have the phrase, No Taxation without Representation, from our revolutionary history. Where  I don’t support a revolution of violence, I do support a revolution of Ideas. Our stagnating Government demands it. The 1P2P deception, denies new Ideas. The limits placed by huge differences between states, to be placed on the ballot, hurts those who see no voice of their own in the conversation. The Commission on Presidential Debates, is controlled by the 1P2P system, as well. Leaving other voices sidelined in these major media events. Then when our votes are cast, after seeing so few varied points of view on stage in these events, the Electoral College  appoints our President.

The flaw to me seems obvious. There is little voice in major media for dissenting points of view. The media, a medium to bring us important information, doesn’t. They don’t question the status quo . They don’t demand the whole story. They are beholding to these two parties, for news on government affairs. A duopoly. They are beholding to our Congress, and the Staffers of the two parties, for their inside information. For this service, major media doesn’t rock the boat. In fact, we know they will work directly with government bodies on “the news”.

Let’s fix the Flaw. Let’s hear some new Ideas. Let’s here some new voices. If only to let the old 1P2P voice, pirate something new for their bag of tricks.

About Eternal Verity - Future News Headlines
Second rate polymath, driven close to mad by the murky quagmire of agenda driven disinformation, playing in their muddied waters. More speaker than a writer, and more a reader than anything. More genial than I might appear. My special ability, being able to jump class, in a single bound (Up or Down) My love and concern is for my fellowman and the feeling human in us all.

Comments are closed.

